Bega Pioneers Museum

Bega Municipal Mayoral Chain

The Story

Three council areas were amalgamated in 1981 as the Bega Valley Shire. These were the Municipality of Bega, established in 1883, and the Mumbulla and Imlay Shires, both formed in 1906.

Bega Pioneers’ Museum holds a small but important collection relating to the civic history of the region. These include the Bega Municipal Council mayoral chain and official seal, and the Mumbulla Shire Presidents honour board.

The mayoral chain honours all municipal mayors from the first in 1883 to the last in 1980.

Images by Angi High for Museum of the South East, © South East Arts (NSW) Inc.


87 Bega Street Bega, NSW 2550